Bipolars walk among you undetected

IWJcover

So, cat’s out of the bag.  Hello, my name is Aspen Morrow, and I have Bipolar 1. I have been med free and have treated my bipolar naturally for the past 10 years.  I started this post in March anonymously, but who cares anymore if everyone in the world knows I have bipolar? This article featured me on the cover in a women’s journal regarding some of my story, but I would not give up my medical condition, because I don’t want to just be known for that. It has taken me 13 years to come to today. I am sick and tired of feeling ashamed for something that is out of my control.  I inherited bipolar.  It started in 1977, but I would not be diagnosed until 1999. I was a bipolar child with a mom who was an RN, and although she thought something was wrong with her precious daughter, she could not figure it out in order to get me help in time.  When I finally was diagnosed, that brought no relief either.  Does anyone else feel like it is unfair that people judge you and blame you for a disease? If I had cancer, would I be as ashamed and fear for my life and my career about people finding out? In light of the recent shooting events in CT, I think there is about to be an even bigger finger pointing at people with a “personality disorder”, and there will be people saying that the gunman’s  “mental illness made him do it”. Well I do not want that stigma perpetuated all over the internet. There are rare people in the world who are just evil, and there are people who legitimately need mental health help.  And do not even get me started on the fact that it is often times the MEDS THAT MAKE THEM DO IT!!!!!! And then there are people who have lived among you for years, completely sane, completely stable, whether on medication and doing great, or who are like me, and choose to treat it naturally. People who have known me for years and are just now finding out are like: “wow, I never would have known there was anything wrong with you!” Well, there isn’t anything “wrong” with me, but I thankful my crazy doesn’t show too much.

I am created just the same way now as  when my Creator, El Shaddai, knit me together in my mother’s womb. I am fearfully and wonderfully made. God has given me a sound mind (II Timothy 1:7) and a hope and a future (Jeremiah 29:11).  He revealed to me the cure that came from the very earth He spoke into existence. Words are so powerful that they have the energy to create.  We are created in His image, and so I am speaking Health and Life, Joy and Wholeness to you today.   Remember that no one has the right to judge you, so do not judge others.  For help from a friend of mine, who is an absolute inspiration, visit her blog: www.afterbipolar.com and read about Autumn Stringam’s amazing story of bipolar recovery. I especially like the entry: “selling yourself a stigma “.  Now Fear NOT, cause it’s amazing who will be brought into your life when you start telling your story in order to help others create theirs.

One thought on “Bipolars walk among you undetected

  1. How incredibly inspiring and awesome, Aspen! I just shared this link on my own Facebook page and the new Community page I created: Natural Healing for Mothers with Bipolar. You are a total wonder woman – keep up the magnificent work!

    Like

Leave a Reply

